Highlight in Kyusyu
On July 9, 2017, the 41th World Heritage Committee of UNESCO decided to list the “Sacred Island of Okinoshima and Associated Sites in the Munakata Region” as a World Heritage Site. Consequently, the number of World Heritage Sites in Japan has reached 21 (17 cultural heritages and 4 natural heritage sites).
"Okinoshima" is a desert island that is located on Genkai-Nada of Munakata city of Fukuoka prefecture, about 60 kilometers away from the mainland of Kyusyu. Mainly, local people worship Okinoshima Island as "an island where gods live". No one is allowed to enter this island to preserve its landscape. Thus, visitors can pray at Okitsu-miya Yohaisho in Munakata-Taisha shrine, which is a worship space on Oshima Island. The shrine enshrines three sister goddesses in each place, who are worshipped as goddesses of the sea. Long course ferries from Kansai (Osaka, Kobe, and Izumiotsu) operate access to Kyusyu. There are two courses, the scenic Seto Inland Sea course and the Pacific Ocean side of Miyazaki and Shibushi. There is also a route from Tokyo to Shinmoji port via Tokushima.


Sites of Japan’s Meiji Industrial Revolution: Iron and Steel, Shipbuilding and Coal Mining

Miike Coal Mine

Misumi West Port

Misumi West Port

Takashima and Hashima (better known as Gunkanjima)

Glover Garden


"Sites of Japan’s Meiji Industrial Revolution: Iron and Steel, Shipbuilding and Coal Mining" was listed as Japan’s new World Heritage Site recently. It is a group of sites that contributed to Japan’s industrial modernization. It consists of 23 assets scattered in 8 areas spreading from Iwate Prefecture to Kagoshima Prefecture. The course will guide you to the history of Japan's formation of modern nation based upon the nurture of shipbuilding, iron and steel making, coal and heavy industrial field in chronological order. In 2015, it was listed as Cultural Heritage Site. Mitsubishi Nagasaki Shipyard is a very rare site because it is still in operation but entrance is prohibited.
To land on the Gunkanjima, it is good to join the "Gunkanjima landing tour" operated by each shipping company. The World Heritage Sites are extensively distributed, so it is quite difficult to see everything at once. We recommend that you focus on the site that most interests you and go to some of the surrounding sites subsequently. The World Heritage Sites are most concentrated in Nagasaki prefecture. If you are planning to visit Gunkanjima, we also recommend that you visit the Huis Ten Bosch.
Sites of Japan's Meiji Industrial Revolutions

Sightseeing spots in Kyushu region


Kyushu is full of sightseeing spots. Representative ones in Kyushu are Hakata City in Fukuoka prefecture, Huis Ten Bosch in Nagasaki prefecture, Mt. Aso in Kumamoto prefecture, Karatsu Castle in Saga prefecture, Yakushima Island in Kagoshima prefecture, Sunmesse Nichinan where moai statues can be seen in Miyazaki prefecture, and Beppu Onsen in Oita prefecture
The Kyushu region is famous for having many hot springs, made by the numerous volcanoes in this region. Mt. Aso is one of the most representative ones. Of all the hot springs that exist in Japan, 35% of them is said to be of Kyushu; Kyushu is the country’s “Great Onsen Land”. It may be good to enjoy your trip while refreshing at hot springs, such as those effective for beautiful skin, popular open-air baths where you can enjoy superb views, and the Ibusuki sand steamed hot spring.